2018 Texan Of The Year Award Goes To

Written by on March 28, 2018

The “King Of Country” has been awarded the Texan of the Year Award for 2018. This happened on March 22nd, over in New Braunfels. One of the main reasons behind his nomination was after Hurricane Harvey, George immediately began raising funds to support families in need. This spread to other country artists like Miranda Lambert, and Chris Stapleton to join in raising awareness and funds. An estimated $50 million total has been raised.

Conference Chair Doug Miller former Texas State Representative says “No one has done more than George Strait to raise awareness and funds for the Hurricane Harvey relief efforts. He put his well-earned reputation on the line and asked not only his fellow Texans to step up, but all Americans. And they have.

NEW BRAUNFELS, TX – MARCH 23: George Strait Honored as Texan of the Year at New Braunfels’ Chamber of Commerce on March 23, 2018 in New Braunfels, Texas. (Photo by R. Diamond/Getty Images for Essential Broadcast Media, LLC)

Past Texans of the Year are listed below.

2003- George W. Bush
2004- Karl Rove
2005- Houston
2006- Roy Velez
2007- removed
2008- Dallas County DA Craig Watkins
2009- Heroes of Fort Hood
2010- Rick Perry
2011- Bill McRaven
2012- Exonerees Christopher Scott and Michael Morton
2013- Heroes of West
2014- The Ebola Warriors
2015- Sens. Rodney Ellis and John Whitmire, and Rep. Ruth Jones McClendon
2016- Judge Janis Graham Jack

Last year was Richard Spencer.


Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

[There are no radio stations in the database]